Beetroots, known scientifically as Beta vulgaris, belong to the Chenopodiaceae family and are categorized under the root vegetables group. They are a versatile food source and are classified into several types based on their shape, color, and size. Here are the primary categories:
1. Table Beets or Garden Beets

These are the most common variety intended for direct consumption. They can be red, golden, or white and are typically round or cylindrical in shape.
2. Sugar Beets

A variety grown primarily for sugar production. They are larger and have a higher sucrose content than table beets, but they are generally not consumed directly.
3. Fodder Beets

These are grown to feed animals and can be very large. They have a more elongated shape compared to table beets and may not be as sweet.

Within the table beet category, several cultivars are based on root color and shape, such as:

Red Beets: The classic deep red beetroot, known for its vibrant color and sweet, earthy flavor.
Golden Beets: These have a golden-yellow hue and a slightly milder taste than red beets.
Chioggia Beets: Also known as candy cane or striped beets, they have red and white concentric stripes inside and a sweet flavor.
White Beets: These beets lack the pigment betacyanin, which gives red beets their color, and have a more subdued flavor.

Beetroots are highly nutritious, packed with vitamins A, B6, and C, as well as minerals like iron, magnesium, potassium, and manganese. They’re also a good source of dietary fiber and antioxidants. Beetroots are used in a variety of dishes and preparations, including boiled, roasted, pickled, and juiced forms, and even their greens are edible and highly nutritious.

Showing all 11 results

Shopping Cart